Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Art of Reading Photo Contest December Winner!

The winner of the December edition of the Gertrude Kistler Memorial Library “Art of Reading Photo Contest” is…

Maram Samara


The library will display all photo entries from this month’s contest including the winning image.

Thank you to all who participated!!!

The January edition of the Art of Reading Contest begins after Christmas break. Submit your images to gkml19010@gmail.com and you could win a $25 cash prize.

Have a wonderful Christmas Break from the Gertrude Kistler Memorial Library!

Library Hours for Christmas Break

During the Holiday season, the Library will observe the following hours:
Monday, December 17-Friday, December 21: 8:30AM-6:00PM;
Saturday, December 21 - Tuesday, January 1: CLOSED
Merry Christmas & Happy New Year from everyone at Gertrude Kistler Memorial Library!

Thursday, December 6, 2012

Congratulations to the Winners of the 2012 Book Collector's Contest

Laura Wilson, Eric Schaefer, Alexa Perotti, Diana Hamlin, April Hawkins, Michael Greico

The winners of the Undergraduate Book Collector’s Prize were announced on December 3 by the Board of the Friends of the Gertrude Kistler Memorial Library. As was the case last year, deciding winners among very interesting collections was very difficult.
The top prize went to Laura Watson whose focus is on horror and science fiction genres, books which “inspire us to confront our vulnerability…..allowing a better insight into our true psyche.” Her collection centers on books by famous American and English writers: Ray Bradbury, M .R. James, Edgar Allan Poe and Stephen King and H.P. Lovecraft.
The second prize went to Alexa Perotti who described her collection as part dystopia and part historical fiction. With her collection she has “taken many adventures to different worlds and different time periods.” Included are The Luxe series; the Tithe series; The Mortal Instruments series; and The Bar Code Tattoo.

Honorable mention went to presentations by Diana Hamlin, Eric Willi Nicholas Schaefer, April Hawkins, and Michael Greico.